Trio of ex-Councillors made Honorary Freemen of Patchway

Patchway Town Council Honorary Freeman conferment ceremony.

In recognition of the long and outstanding service given to the community by three ex-Councillors, Patchway Town Council has used its powers under the Local Government Act to confer the title of Honorary Freeman on Dr Kenneth Graupner, Mr Lewis Gray and Mr Charles Horton.

This is the first time this honour has been conferred by the Town Council and the occasion was marked by the attendance of Cllr Janet Biggin, Chair of South Gloucestershire Council, at a presentation ceremony held at the Town Council offices in Rodway Road last night (Thursday 21st February).

The three new Honorary Freemen were each presented with a certificate, scroll and commemorative gift by Cllr Chris Mills, Chair of Patchway Town Council.

In his introductory speech, Cllr Mills observed that the trio had together given more than ninety years service to Patchway Town Council or its forerunner, Patchway Parish Council.

All of the men honoured also represented Patchway at District Council level for several years (variously on Thornbury District Council, Northavon District Council and/or South Gloucestershire Council).

Photo: (l-r) Charles Horton. Lewis Gray and Kenneth Graupner.

Profiles of the new Honorary Freemen of Patchway

Kenneth Graupner: 50 years as school governor at various schools in Patchway, including Patchway High School, Coniston Infants and St. Chad’s Schools; Member of Community Health Council; Patchway Town Councillor from 1995-2007 and Chairman in 2005 and South Gloucestershire Councillor for Patchway 2004-12. Currently Secretary of North Patchway Hall.

Lewis Gray: 54 years a member of Patchway Parish Council, later Patchway Town Council. Chairman for 9 years, 4 years of which as Mayor, and Vice-Chairman for 12 years. Local Magistrate for 20 years. Governor of Patchway High School for 40 years and of Coniston Primary School for 45 years. Trustee of Almondsbury Charity for 20 years and Treasurer of Patchway Community Association for 18 years.

Charles Horton: Member of Patchway Parish and later Town Council for 25 years from 1978-2003; Vice-Chairman of Parish Council 1990-94; Chairman of Northavon District Council from 1991-93. Governor of Patchway High School and Chairman of Governors of Stoke Lodge Infants and Callicroft Juniors. Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary of Patchway Community Association and pushed forward plans for the new hall. Also promoted the building of Coniston Community Centre and subsequently Trustee of Coniston Community Association for 20 years. Currently Treasurer of Patchway Senior Citizens Club and Chairman of Stoke Lodge Neighbourhood Watch.

Photo: Cllr Janet Biggin (Chair, South Gloucestershire Council) addresses the guests, watched by Cllr Chris Mills (Chair, Patchway Town Council).

See more photos from the ceremony on PicasaWeb.